cautious OW cert diver w/limited salt water exp going to Ontario Cali 10-23

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

maggs_the

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm going out there to visit a friend who does NOT dive but might be talked into bubble watching from a boat... but since he is not a diver, he's of no help finding a dive site or charter or anything. I'm not lugging all my equipment, and I have no experience shore diving in the ocean. I've only been in the ocean twice and both were boat dives (one a 88ft wreck and the other a 30ft coral reef dive).

I may be more cautious than others, but I think I still need a "tour guide" on my dives. I'm a very good follower :god: I've taken the classes (nitrox, Night/Lim Vis, Navigation, UW Photo), but there's just not a lot of practice time 'round these here parts.

I'm looking for suggestions for who to dive with and where to dive.

Check out South Orange County Dive Club at:
http://www.southcoastdivers.com/SOCDC/

They meet and go out as a group to Laguna Beach.
Perhaps if you email them they will take you out.

Otherwise get on the ocdivebums.com list and ask
if you can "tag along" with someone. I'm sure some kind
souls will show you a great time!

Hope this helps,

Another place is www.divevets.com , new divers at all skill levels are always welcome to join us. We do a night dive every Wednesday at Redondo Beach's Veteran's Park (6:30) and dive several times a week at diferent locations.

ICE