Can't afford Strobe! Would a headlamp help?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mystic

Registered
Reaction score
HuuUuullo! :) :D

I have questions :coffee: , but first here's my background:

I'm going diving in Cozumel (@ end of July), and I'll be taking a camera with me for the first time. I'm a student and I don't have any money, I'm actually already severely in debt.

That being said, here's my setup so far

Fuji e900 - Ikelite housing
(I'll try to purchase AD-Mount, and INON macro lenses)
(^^ I need to sell stuff to be able to buy these items)

.. and I'll make my own DIY tray and handle

I've spent the last 8 hours reading everything I could on the subject..
I can't afford a strobe right now and I've come to the conclusion that I don't want to buy a cheap one, I'd rather wait to be able to buy a good one (but, that wont be before my vacation).

If you throw into the equation that I'm an inexperience diver (just got certified), I'm not sure that I want to have to deal with the strobe anyway right now.. (I think I'll have my hands full with controlling my buoyancy) :11:

Anyway, I've seen good pictures made by people using dive-lights or even aiming lights (rather than strobes).. and that made me think about headlamps!

I use those regulary in any topside activity (climbing, mountaineering, kayak, camping etc)

I'm now looking at The Pelican 2680 (waterproof to 500', 33lumens, 5000lux) 60$
http://www.pelican.com/lights_detail_specs.php?recordID=2680