Camera Floods: Avoiding the High Water Mark

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JackConnick

Jack Connick
ScubaBoard Business Sponsor
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
i got some inspiration from a recent thread here on SB, so here's a new article on my blog taking a light-hearted look at housing maintenance. I'm not an expert at floods, thank god, your comments and experiences can be added at the end:

"No subject scares underwater photographers more than having an expensive housed camera turn into an aquarium. Even a bit of water can turn electronics into a corroded mess.

Here are a few general tips on maintenance that should help you avoid finding Nemo in your housing:..."

See: Optical Ocean: Above and Below.: Underwater Camera Floods: Avoiding the High Water Mark

Cheers,
Jack

Thanks, Jack, very helpful advice. I was a little perplexed, though, by the author's claim that "MOST floods happen in the rinse tank." I can see a problem occurring when too many cameras are piled up in a rinse tank, but I don't see what the problem is otherwise.

Happy new year, alashas honeymoon2's photos- powered by SmugMug

Thanks for the humorous article

dunk tank ...