Camera Decision: Sealife dc500 or Sea&Sea dx750

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

briank92587

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to underwater photography and want to buy either a Sealife dc500 digital or a Sea & Sea dx-750g. Does anyone have experience with these cameras? Any info will be greatly appreciated. Thank You in Advance.

I got one of the first ones to be available last summer. When it takes pictures, it takes great pictures. I used it on a recent trip to Dominica and got some great shots.

However, I've had significant battery problems with it. Now on my third battery. In fact I sent it back to the mfgr after the Dominica trip due to battery problem.

I work (volunteer) at my LDS and talk with lots of photo divers. Some are having problems with the Sea & Sea camera as well. I believe that both are new and pushing the technology to get small underwater. That's a challange.

There another thread that I recently read about a guy who had an older Sealife. He dove with it, it leaked, it was his fault and Sealife replaced it without question. He bought used and out of warranty. That's customer service!!

Despite my problems, I'd still vote for the DC500. Once they fix the battery problem, I'm sure it will consistently take great pictures.

That's the price that I pay to get a brand new model and the growing pains that go with it.

PM me if you want any more.

PS> Make sure that you get the strobe and Wide angle lens.