blue in pictures

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fishbio101

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am new to U/W photography and was trying to figure out how it is possible to get the blue out of pictures at deeper depths? all opinions are welcome.

The blue happens due to the filtering of the light spectrum by water. If you want colors, you need to bring light, that's why you see these great big strobes on all of the serious shooter's riggs. An alternative is to stay shallow in clear water, or shoot very close up.

yeah ...

the deeper you go, the more "blue" you'll see. you need to get real close so that the flash can light your subject

the shallower you stay, the more ambient light there will be and the less "blue" you'll see

If I'm shooting wide angle I'll use the white balance tool in Photoshop. Even at shallow depths, unless you are using a Magic Filter you will need to do some color correction. I'll turn my strobes off in shallow water and just shoot in natural light. I always use strobes for macro.

Depending which camera you are using, you can set the white balance manually at depth.

Manually adjusting your camera's white balance at shooting depth seems to help a lot also (if you aren't all ready).

UTKnox:
Are the Magic Filters really worth the cost?