Best fins for snorkeling?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kim

Here for my friends.....
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
OK guys - what do you think? What would be the best kind of fins for snorkeling - not diving? From things I've read on the board already I'm thinking toward full foot splits but I have no experience to base it on.
Remember - no back kicks, no helicopter turns, no frog kicks - just a pure propulsion fin that is easy to kick for a long time without getting cramp.

I don't see how you can go wrong with splits. They are strongly recommended for long surface swims for divers, so why not for snorkelers?

Can you go to your LDS and try different types on the pool before buying? That's what I did and became convinced of what NOT to buy and stick with what I have. :wink:

I snorkel with my daughter at Blue Springs here in Florida. It is a great way to see the manatees. She was using Mares full foot snorkel fins, and I could not keep up with her using Tusa scuba fins and booties. Scuba fins tended to flop around on the surface rather than digging through the water.

I picked up Cressi Pro Star full foot fins. These are comfortable, have a nice flex, and stay in the water. I've had a lot of fun with these, and they didn't cost that much.

Stu S.