beginner still camera with some video

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

trapper1981

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
OK Im relatively new to diving about 20 dives but I'm getting that bug for taking photos and video on some of my dives. My budget is 1000 I was planning on a GoPro but Ive heard stills are not great. I think stills would be more important for me as I would love to decorate my house in prints from photos i take. I am not into macro I would mainly be photographing sharks. My wife has a nikon d3200 i looked at the housing for it is 1500 and I would be a little nervous sharing a camera with her but I'm not totally against it. Sealife DC1400 was one Ive been looking at as well. any advice would be appreciated as it can get a little overwhelming.

---------- Post added August 10th, 2014 at 08:12 AM ----------

sorry should of added my wife is not a diver at all and loves taking pictures topside

As far as decorating your home 'in prints from photos' you will be taking(right now), IMO you might be a ways away from that(in time)..........IMO, get to know someone you'll be diving with & let them share their pics with you-------via email etc etc.......You might get lucky on a shot or 2, but IMO(again) you'll be able to decorate only a very small house, @ this time.........:)

I would recommend going for the G16 bundle with the Fantasea housing, or an S120 with Ikelite housing.
Both are capable of excellent photos and videos and are well inside your budget.