Beginner & going to Spain. Help me please

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jujumsn

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to both scuba diving and ScubaBoard. I’m hoping that some more experienced people can help me out a bit. I’m going to Barcelona at the end of Sept. and I was thinking about diving at the Medas Islands, L’Estartit. I was thinking about booking with Calypso Diving International. However, I just noticed that they can only take 42 people a day to the island, so they cannot guarantee two dives in one day. I only have one day to dive, so I have to make the most of it. Is this common? If not, any recommendations on another dive operator for beginners?

Also, do I purchase insurance at the dive shop? Do I get a special diving medical at home before I go? Can beginners dive the island, or are there a certain number of dives you have to have logged before diving the island?

Finally, is it possible to leave Barcelona by bus going to L’Estartit, do two dives, and return to Barcelona in one day plus evening?

Hi jujumsn,

First off, welcome to scubaboard!