Become Professional in Thailand?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Freesub

Registered
Reaction score
Hello!!!

I am new at Scubaboard and I find it very interesting and useful. I have been reading few threads on Thailand and Asia in particular and already found lots of hints.

I am on AOWD and EFR certified diver and planning to go to Asia to become a professional in diving, in May 2005 ... I know a lot could change in a year time, but I am trying only to get opinions about Thailand and other places in Asia, in order to make the best choice in terms of costs and instructor experience.
So, could anyone let me know if it is possible to get to be pro by working (anything suits!!!!) in a diving center and not pay the courses (I am a certified accountant and speak fluently English, Italian, French and German)?

I am thinking about Thailand or Philippines.

Anyone could let me know, by living in one of those places for about 6 months, the monthly budget I should consider in terms of accomodation and food ...
Much appreciated if you could help ...
Greetings from sunny Switzerland.

Freesub

hi Freesub, in thailand there's 2 main choices west coast or east coast (gulf islands), you'll have better conditions generally on the west coast but for my mind I prefered working the east coast islands on koh tao. This was because it is cheaper and more relaxed than the area around phuket.