Asking the Dok about Flushing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

David Bali

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Hi Doc:
I am an Instructor of 12 years experience, and I have never gotten bent. However from a lot of my friends who suggested me to go through with flushing; sitting through a chamber session trying to eliminate micro bubbles.
My question is; does this really work? and should I go through it regularly?

Rgrds,
David

What the?!

Your friends have got to be kidding. Or maybe they're commercial divers. "Flushing" is something I have never even remotely heard of in recreational diving. Although the theory does appear sound.

I also got DCS from an "educational" chamber dive. Never again will I go into one of those things unless I have to.

David Bali:
Hi Doc:
....a lot of my friends suggested that I go through with flushing; sitting through a chamber session trying to eliminate micro bubbles.

My question is; does this really work? and should I go through it regularly?

Rgrds,
David

Simple answer: If I understand the question properly, the answer is no, it won't do you any lasting good.

Now, hypothetically, if you could go straight from the chamber to your dive site, and, even better, if someone could carry you and your gear there, and put it on you, there are some theoretical benefits!

This has not been studied enough, except perhaps by Doc Deco, to allow for a proper answer. Perhaps the good Doc will weigh in on this one soon.