Apeks ATX200 VS. Mares Titanium Abyss

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

darksidetone

Registered
Reaction score
O.K. so I currently have a Mares Titanium Abyss regulator that I have been using for 2 years and NEVER have had a problem with it. BUt through good fortune I basically got a brand new Apeks ATX200 regulator for free. Now, the Apeks is DIN, and I NEVER dive DIN, but I could easily get an adapter for YOKE. So my quandry is do I keep the Apeks and use the Abyss as a back-up in case I ever need it, or do I keep using the Abyss that has NEVER given me ANY sort of problem. If I keep the Abyss, then I would try and sell the Apeks. SO I am just wondering what would YOU do? Thanks for any/all of your wisdom.

darksidetone:
SO I am just wondering what would YOU do? Thanks for any/all of your wisdom.

I don't know if I have wisdom but I have a motto I occasionally follow:

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

However, there are some people out there eating crappy donuts that have NEVER tasted a Krispy Kreme donut.

So my advice would change to: "Try out the Apeks and see if there is something good about it that you've been missing in the Abyss."