Amateur advice?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Poolstok

Registered
Reaction score
Hi

I am a semi pro top ground tog. I recently took to diving - NAUI open water, and have 10 dived behind my name.

I have 2 x 350D's, a 40D, and a myriad of lenses. When i heard the price for a casing for any of my systems, i opted for a Fuji Finepix and housing....

I soon discovered that the flash is by far not suitable, nor is the cam's limited manual functions as opposed to a slr.

So, what i am asking is this....should i buy the 40d casing, plus all the lighting attachments for a small fortune - and create income through this, or just keep the fuji as a hobby, blurry option?

Short of the short.... is it worth it?

Here is one image i took, and PS'd to the 'correct colour?'

Attachments

• Lion of a different kind_JB_M.JPG
    Lion of a different kind_JB_M.JPG
    200.1 KB · Views: 66
You know, you don't actually need a dslr to take really nice underwater images. There are a variety of compacts that are perfectly capable and will keep a little money in your pocket, too.

Of course, there are things that a dslr can offer that a compact can't, but there are tradeoffs as I'm sure you've discovered through browsing the sticky!