Am I good enough diver to utilize macro lenses?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scotttyd

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Ok, I have never used macro lenses before, and I just started using a manual control camera. I have about 100 dives. Yesterday I was on one of the wrecks here in NC and was playing around with my camera. I tried to get close to some small stuff. There was just a slight current (pretty easy diving by NC standards). I just could not get more than about 6 inches and be able to hold the camera steady (with my arms extended). Would a macro lense be of any use unless you get within an inch or so of the critter?

Work, work, and more work on your buoyancy and trim skills.
You need to be able to hang in any position, upside down, on your head, controling your depth with only your breathing and the slowest movements of your fins.
It is very frustrating at the begining but when you get it right it is so satisfying.
Learn to ride the surge so that each pass you creep closer to your target.
If there is current then the shot you want may be impossible, instead look for an alternative angle where you can fin against the current.

Practise make a better diver, get wet and have fun.

Work, work, and more work on your buoyancy and trim skills.
You need to be able to hang in any position, upside down, on your head, controling your depth with only your breathing and the slowest movements of your fins.
It is very frustrating at the begining but when you get it right it is so satisfying.