AL80's

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scuga

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
So I wanted some advice on AL80's for doubles.

I was thinking of getting Sherwood 80 Cubic Foot Aluminum Compact Neutral Tank

If I go into rebreather diving (eventually after I've had lots of experience and plenty of training) could I turn these into bailout/deco tanks or is having the positive buoyancy an attribute that is desired in bailout and deco tanks.

Thanks

Hi scuga.

With 0-24 do you have a real need for doubles yet? If your frustrated by using air fast I'd suggest more diving and skill tuning. Enough of that.

Again as a new diver you are probably diving wet. As such you don't have the secondary lift of a drysuit and the relative buoyant properties of a common AL80 are in your favor. Remember that you will be adding bands, a plate, manifold and or some number of regulators to this so it can get quite negative fast. You will be starting the dive with 10+ pounds of expendable air.

I'm a little out of my game but as a bailout bottle I would think that the common AL80 would be better since with air it will be closer to neutral. Should you need to hand it off or park it there will be less impact.