advice for newbie to U/W photography pls

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DiverDebbie

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to u/w photography and been thinking for some time now of getting a camera and housing for u/w. Although I am a PNW diver, I'm not so keen on photography here in our local murky waters, but I love to take pictures in warm, clear water while on vacation. I'm looking for a point and shoot in around the $500 range. I've been doing some reading of the posts here, and now I am just more thoroughly confused.
For land photography I have a Fuji which has been awesome. It takes some great shots for a cheap little point and shoot. Unfortunately a housing is not made for it, and now it is getting older and starting to devour batteries. Time to retire it.