1st Coz Trip/Question on Drift Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JenB

New
Reaction score
Hello from Boston! My husband and I are planning our first trip to Cozumel in one month and have been reading your posts which have helped us plan and getting us more excited about going. This is my first post!

I have been diving for 4 years but our budget/time only allows 1 sometimes 2 dive trips a year. I have little experience with drift diving and would appreciate your response. My only experience was a trip to Palau a couple years ago. We hooked in (rocks/sand) at Blue Corner and watched the schools of fish, sharks etc go by.

question 1 - in cozumel, do divers ever "hook in"?

question 2 - for shore diving, are the current strong even close to shore? in other words, if we start our dive in front of our hotel, will we come up only a short distance away, or should we expect a long walk back to the hotel?!

thanks in advance!

You will find the Cozumel currents to be very mild compared to Blue Corner. Hooking in is not recommended in Cozumel as the diving is done in a national park and you aren't supposed to touch the reef. Having said that, I often use one finger to park myself, trying only to touch bare rock.

On a shore dive, unless you are planning a taxi cab ride before or after the dive, you start the dive into the current...go slowly...and near the end of the dive turn and drift back to the entry point. In an hour, you can easily drift more than a mile.