Would these items be good for SoCal diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

goldenbear01

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi everyone,

I'm a newly certified diver who is looking into purchasing a BCD, reg, and octo for diving off SoCal. Specifically, I'm looking at a package that contains the following items:

BC: Aeris Sport BC
Reg: Aeris A1 Regulator
Octo: Aeris A1 Octo

At present, I don't have much money to spend, since I'm still a student.

I appreciate any feedback that any boardmembers can offer.

Hiya, I like Aeris products. I dive an AerisAT 400 Sport DVT Reg with and A1 Octo, And have found it to be reliable . I think the number 1 most imoortant thing in dive gear is comfort. The second most important thing is buying from a reputable,authorized dealer like your LDS. Plus going into a local dive shop, you can try equipment on and ask all the questions you have. Sometimes they will even put together better packages than you would imagine. Another suggestion I have is to wait a little bit,before purchasing especially if you are tight on money. Rent different types of gear so that you may try them out before you purchase. This will help you decide what features you are looking for and really need. I also think that rushing into buying equipment is a bad thing because you may end up spending a lot of money on something you don't really like or trust. And besides, hanging around the idive shop can be cool.

Welcome to the adventure. And Good Diving to you.

Last edited: