Without strobe

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

nivla80

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a relatively new diver, and i'm also pretty new to uw photography. I understand that a strobe is essential for taking good pictures. I'm using a Canon SD800 IS, with the WPDC9 casing. I'm tryin to get comfortable takin pictures underwater b4 i get a strobe.

I know this is hard, but is there anyway that i can take ok lookin pictures, even without the strobe?

Thanks!

1. Become familiar with manual settings
2. Manual white balance for non-flash pics
3. If the water is clear then try the built in flash.

Agree with the comments so far:

Shallow
Lots of Light
Really short distance to your subject

Unfortunately without adding in some light from a strobe the natural colors of object will begin to fade rather quickly and your shots. People and objects will appear somewhat washed out and the overall pic will be mostly bluegreen.

I have yet to buy a strobe, but I have been able to take some fairly nice pictures. Some of the photography edit programs can enhance underlit and faded pictures quite well. Many of the underwater photographers use these programs to give their photos just a bit more light and color. I use Photoshop 7.0. The software can't fix everything, but it can sometimes make an unacceptable picture worth keeping.