Why Padi wants to create a community and sell trips

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ScubaMeen

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I used to be a deepblu ambassador and got approached by Padi to support their new "travel" platform (at the moment it seems to be booking?) I rejected, as I believe to support smaller businesses and I have had some bad experience with Padi loyalty. Nevertheless i want to know why Padi is trying a business model they are clearly not good at??? Can they copy everyone/every idea all the time? Do people really want a Padi world? How shall i trust booking a liveaboard trip with Padi with 0 given transparency? i dont understand how this can attract divers, is the pricing even competitive or the reviews real?

I'm not sure I understand your concern. It's my understanding that Diviac was sold to PADI and PADI is now fulltime in the dive travel business. I checked out their website and I thought is looked nice and was well done.

They are now just another booking option for folks or groups wanting to travel. They would be a wholesaler for dive shops doing group travel and a retail outlet for individual divers wanting to book travel. I suspect if a dive shop wanted to book group travel through them, the shop would get the standard 10% commission as well as free spots, etc.

When you say "How shall I trust booking a liveaboard trip with Padi with 0 transparency" what does that mean?