Question Why are my fingertips cracking/peeling after dives with zero contact

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

OP
AVANTI4

AVANTI4

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Long time diver, first time poster. I'm a part time dive instructor, and I'll dive a couple times a week in all recreational depth ranges. I've been diving 23 years, but in the last 4 years when I dive regularly my finger tips will completely dry up, start to crack and ultimately peel, sometimes even bleed. The severity changes day to day, but the ones in the picture were when it was a bad case. I'm 100% sure its diving related as when I'm out of the water for a few weeks they become completely normal. So my question is, Why is this happening? Has anyone else dealt with anything like this? I've seen other pictures and threads and of fingers peeling but it seems their fingers were retaining moisture and looked pruned. This seems to be the opposite. I've visited dermatologists that have suggested it could be an allergy and to try moisturising, but this is beyond moisturiser. I don't use any soap for my mask. I do not touch a damn thing when I'm underwater except onto students when needed. This also has happened in multiple countries where I worked, Thailand, India, Indonesia, Tanzania, Philippines.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. 🙏🏽

Attachments

• 20231210_144725.jpg
    20231210_144725.jpg
    70.2 KB · Views: 85
  • 20231210_144736.jpg
    20231210_144736.jpg
    65.4 KB · Views: 64