who to dive with

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gianster

Contributor
Reaction score
I need to find a new dive op that caters to experienced divers. Small 6 pack. Does Maracaibo, Columbia Deep, Punta Sur Sur, Baracuda and San Juan up north on a regular basis that uses aluminum tanks. Any recommendations? I have been diving Cozumel for about ten years twice a year. Love Christies Blue XTsea Pedro and Mago but the last two times I dove with them, the divers on the boat never wanted to do any of the mentioned dive sites (not the operators fault). I then switched to Aldora which went to all of my favorite dive sites every day but they use steel tanks that are way too heavy for me (even steel 100 with no weight). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Gianster

I thought I had a solution until you got to the AL tank part. I use Aldora and am also overweighted with the steel tanks with no weights. BUT I deal with that so I can do all the other stuff you mentioned...

TC

If you dive with any of the "boutique" shops who have one or two boats, you always have a chance of getting a group of divers with mixed experience who might not all want to dive the deeper or more advanced sites.

You might want to consider on of the bigger shops who has more boats and can group their divers by experience level. Either that, or, get together 4-6 of your own diving friends and charter your own boat.

Dear Glanster,