Which second first stage for diving coldwater?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

McHugh

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi guys, as I am new to scubaboard, I hope this is the right place for this question.
When I first bought my regulator, I went with an APEKS XTX200/XTX40 with a fsr first stage. This is also my setup, when it comes to recreational diving in open water for one valved bottles. As I plan to increase the number of dives in german lakes, often a second first stage is required for safety reasons in case of icing. As I am limited to the ammount of money I can spend, I wonder if it is the better choice to go with an APEKS DS4 or to spend the extra money for a second FSR/FST/DST first stage. For the moment, this stage will only be used for cold water dives.

Thanks for your answers and advice in advance.

On my opinion the most obvious choice is to get another first stage identical to the one you already own.
Also for the second stages, my choice was always to have two identical high-performances second stages.
This simplifies maintainance and problem solving.

On my opinion the most obvious choice is to get another first stage identical to the one you already own.
Also for the second stages, my choice was always to have two identical high-performances second stages.
This simplifies maintainance and problem solving.