Question What's the reason for bubbling out with reg off-mouth?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Th3B0Y

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all.

Complete newbie here. I'm doing my OW course and I like to know the reasons behind things. I wasn't able to get a definitive answer to the reason why I have to always keep bubbling out when I have my reg off-mouth. I understand I need to exhale if I'm ascending, but why bubble out if depth doesn't change?

Thanks in advance.

the basic idea is to train your instincts to always be exhaling (even a small stream of bubbles) when you are not inhaling.

if you have the reg out, and you were to hold your breath and accidentally ascend, you could over expand your lungs. making sure you are always exhaling helps prevent a lung over expansion injury.

this is an especially important skill when in shallow waters (like a pool) where the relative pressure change is greatest.

in other words, if you hold your breath in 6 feet of water and then ascend to the surface you could hurt yourself.