What wing for double 7L/LP50s? Or also 12L S72 LP85(?)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MichaelMc

Working toward Cenotes
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
What wings do people like for 7L / LP50 doubles? I'm looking to get tiny doubles and am unsure on the best wing. Either single purpose, 7L/LP50, or multi purpose, adding 10L, 12L, S72, (LP85??).

I likely need 40+ lb/18+kg. This is for rec. shore diving, but bullet proof is rarely bad, and for me double bladders would be prudent as my warmer suit is very thick. I'm new to doubles, but BP/W experienced.

Assuming a just 7L/LP50 wing would be rare, I crunched numbers (below) on what the next larger doubles look like. Next are 10L and S72 that fit 185mm/7.3" c-t-c bands, or LP85 that would have 8.5"/215mm. So a doubles wing that targets these as maxes, and can flap less if the tank unit shrinks is most versatile. And may shift my question to "what do people like for just double 10/12L or LP85"? Although a sleek 7L doubles wing is enticing.

U.S. bands are mostly 8.5"/215mm c-t-c, so U.S. market wings might not target the tighter isolation bar spacing possible with tiny 7L/LP50 or small 10L 12L S72 tanks such as 160mm/6.3" or 185mm/7.3" c-t-c. Though you can find U.S. 185mm LP50 bands.

Beyond cool and slim, the tight 160mm/6.3" spacing would be similar to using them as no manifold independent doubles if I wanted to easily share them with sidemount. Do people outside the U.S. prefer the sufficient 7L/LP50 spacing of 160 mm or the wider 186mm?