What to self-teach, how to self-teach it, an how to practice it.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Thalassamania

Diving Polymath
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
On a large pile of smokin' A'a, the most isolated
# of dives
5000 - ∞
Lots of folks on another thread agree that there are many things that can be self-taught. Here's a thread for exploring that concept in greater breath and depth. Let's start with dry suits, if you are self-taught ... tell us the details of the process you went through. Other items and skills are fine too,

I didn't self-teach drysuit, but I self-taught doubles. I purchased a set and played with them in my garage (making some really embarrassing phone calls in the process) until I understood how everything worked. Then I met up with two friends who were used to them, for my first dive. I got some feedback on my trim, and then I just set about diving the tanks a lot. I didn't do valve drills for a while, until I felt stable in the tanks. Then I started playing with valve shutdowns. I read everything I could find on line from people who had had trouble doing them, to learn what they had figured out to make it easier.

It all worked fine. I had no untoward events during the learning process, nor did I learn anything incorrect. I did need my trim polished a LOT, which was done in the first class I took in them.