What is a rebreather

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Thanks cave diver, I know now I will never use a rebreather.

LOL. This is diving. You should learn to never say never. :wink:

Im sorry Im new to diving , what is a rebreather.

It is a device that takes the gas that you exhale and adds oxygen back in to it by passing it through your wallet.

:eyebrow:

Passing it through your wallet - too true.

I absolutely love my rebreather, it has allowed me to do some absolutely phenomenal dives that would be impossible on open circuit. But it is definitely a financial leap.

Have to agree with JDostal, what I tell people moving to a rebreather has re-invigorated my diving.
Sure they aren't cheap but in my mind well worth the expense.

Al

Here's one simple explanation:

When you breathe in you inhale 21% oxygen and 79% inert gas (that's from your basic OW scuba classes). As you know, what your body needs to live on (the fuel) is the oxygen. But of that 21% you inhale your body only needs about 3% to sustain life. So, when you exhale, you are actually thowing away about 18% of the oxygen you could have used (metabolized) as fuel. Let me rephrase that: It means when you are under water on open-circuit scuba, every time you exhale you are thowing away about 18% of the oxygen you could have used to dive with.