What do I do next after SSI Stress & Rescue Certification

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

The Wolf

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Hi all,

I am a 31 year old veteran diver who dives for recreational purposes these days.

The highest certification I have is with SSI as a Stress and Rescue diver but I am wondering what would be the next steps forward to being able to take divers out on tour dives and working in the diving tourism industry in the future?

I am based out of Brunei at the moment so warm water diving all year round for the most part.

Thanks.

Dive guides are typically, at minimum, DIvemaster (if they're PADI) or a Dive Con (I think...) if SSI. But most dive guides are instructors, which I think is the same designation for both PADI and SSI (and most other agencies.)

The important step is figuring out where, when and with whom you want to work in the diving tourism industry. Then find out what certification they want you to have, or what certification their guides actually do have. Make sure there's a reasonable expectation of work for you after you go through the cost and effort of additional certification. Then make a plan and do it.

Dive guides are typically, at minimum, DIvemaster (if they're PADI) or a Dive Con (I think...) if SSI. But most dive guides are instructors, which I think is the same designation for both PADI and SSI (and most other agencies.)