Question Weight and been gear Overweight.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rAgnaAA

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi everyone so I have a doubt about weights.
I’m fairly new at diving (Since March) and I’ve done 45 dives.
Al my dives where on the same lake (Fresh water, Temperature ranges yearly from 22°C (72°f) to 6°C (43°f) and really good visibility) so my experience is really limited to what I’ve done until now.

My question is about WEIGHT.
ATM I’m 1,71m tall (5 foot 6) and weight 96kg (211 lb) (around 18% ~ 16% Body Fat) I’m really dense.
I dive with a 7mm semi-dry suit with a hood and gloves (right now the water temp is around 16°C but it will get colder as winter settles), 15L steel tank and a Hydros Pro BCD (Yeah... I’m going to die =P ).

Right now, my extra lead for weight is 2kg (4.4lb) well it’s actually less than that but I don’t have smaller weights so I use 2 – 1kg for a better trim.

I was actually looking for a BP/W setup but right now I’m confused about been GEAR OVERWEIGHT not lead overweight.

* How do a deal with that?
* Possible issues with been gear overweight.

For more references:
With an AL80 cylinder I use around 6kg lead (13lb) but it’s closer to 5kg but now having smaller weight I can’t balance so 6kg it is.

When I was doing my OW certification my instructor gave me around 10kg and holy F I sank like a rock so we started removing weight until I was left with the 6kg.