Wanting to Buy a Dive Watch

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

IndyDiver

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to diving and want to buy a basic dive watch -- not a lot of $$$.

Any recommendations?

Is digital o.k. or should I buy a watch with the revolving 10 - 20 - 30 - 40 - 50 dial?

Is 300 feet deep enough if I do not plan to go below 100 feet? Or do i need a 200 Meter (660 feet) water resistant watch?

Thanks for your help.

If you don't want to spend a lot of $ Timex - Ironman does the trick. Less than 40Cdn (about 25 USD)

Gives time, and allows for timing of 'laps' - which you can use for safety stops, and SI.

I would suggest a good basic analog watch with a rotating bezel. Check out the many on-line vendors mentioned on the BBS such as Leisure-Pro, or others and compare prices.

I set the uni-directional rotating bezel at the start of my dive, and use it as a back up to my dive computer (a wrist mounted Vyper).

I would go for a 200 meter depth rating, and would not trust a cheap digital with push buttons. Many of these will loose their seal if the buttons are pushed underwater.

If you decide to save a few $ and get a digital, and your primary timing device does fail during a dive, I would suggest aborting the dive immediately.

I went for a Seiko Divers 200M with screw-down crown about 10 years ago, and have not regretted it one bit.

DSAO.

I have a Fossil, that has a bezel that you can set....I don't generally use it for diving.....but it does say it's good till 100 Meters on it.