Upcoming 1st UW Cam Purchase - Help me Please!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dlwalke

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm fairly new to Scuba and completely new to UW photography. I take a lot of Pics while kayaking and have been pretty content with an upscale Olympus point and shoot. I'm now thinking about the C5050 and will probably buy one in the next few days. I've seen a lot of good things about this camera here. My question is how something like this compares to the dedicated UW cameras like Sea and Sea or Reefmaster? I gather I can do everything I might like with an Olympus in an UW housing (e.g., attach external strobes, do macro's etc.). Is one more or less versatile than the other? Is there any reason I might want to reconsider my decision to get the C5050 and opt for one of these other ones that I see in scuba catalogs so frequently?

Thanks very much,
Dave

First and foremost among the reasons to choose digital over film is the fact that you can instantly see what you have done. In many cases, if you have made a mistake, you can correct the mistake and shoot the same picture again (try that with film).