Unidentified fish of the Keys

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DamselDoc

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have been diving in the Keys for several years and have a collection of "unidentified" subjects. I can ID most of the things I photograph from Humann and DeLoach's book, but every now and then I find one that doesn't match up exactly. All of these fish were photographed in less than 50ft, in Key Largo (most on French's or Molasses reefs). The first looks like some type of snapper but with a red tint and without the 'tears' of the dog snapper. The second looks like a bar jack, but it is yellow. The third and fourth are from the goby/blenny group (I am sorry the quality isn't great... I was just getting ID shots). Finally, the fifth reminds me of a red hind, but I don't think that is what it is.

Thank you for any assistance that you may be able to lend.

DamselDoc

unidentified_1.jpg

unidentified_2.jpg

unidentified_3.jpg

unidentified_goby_5_keys_806.jpg

unidentified_4.jpg

#1 is a type of grunt, looks like a Sailors Choice Haemulon parra
#2 I would agree with bar jack, sometimes they can show a yellowish bronze pigmentation
#3 may be a dragonet genus Diplogrammus or Paradiplogrammus
#4 looks like a blenny from the family Labrisomidae
#5 is a Graysby Cephalopholis cruentata

3. might be a frillfin goby, we call them mud gobies when we catch them in our nets while trying to get grass shrimp in the intercoastal Indian River. And we do put them back!

1.possibly pigfish
2.bar jack