Trim and Weight Distribution

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sffrenchman

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi everyone:

I am new to diving with a BP/W rig and I find myself a little head heavy. My BP is a DSS and has weight plates attached to it. I also wear ankle weights and a weight belt. I dive single tank. To correct the trim issue, I was thinking about moving the weights on my weight belt towards my back. I have read people recommending weight pockets attached to lower tank cam strap.

What are the pro and cons of using a weight pocket attached to the lower tank cam strap compare to moving weights toward the back on my weight belt. I like the idea of keeping the weights on the belt since they are still ditchable but wonder whether adding weights to the the lower tank cam strap may be more effective at correcting the problem.

Thanks for your help.

Moving weight from your waist to your lower cam strap can only make you more head heavy. It might make more sense to remove the weight plates from the BP & to make up their ballast by adding some to the waist belt & some to the cam bands for better balance.

What sort of exposure suit are you using? What sort of tank do you use? How much ballast do you use in total & how is it distributed?

My first thought would be to a) dive more and b) lower the plate or tank. By diving more, you'll be able to control your trim in any direction better, and lowering the plate or tank you'll shift your center of gravity toward your legs a bit.