To tether or not to tether

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tep

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm a very new photographer. I've been diving with a GoPro and the stock GoPro floating grip. Of course that's been painful with trying to handle the camera and a separate light.

I just received the Mako 2-handle camera tray from my lovely wife as a birthday present, and I have one question to begin.

Do most people attach this to a tether or retractor? I'd like to make sure I don't use the rig, but I'm not sure of how I would do that. I have an extra heavy duty retractor, or I could use some line and a swivel snap hook.

What's the consensus?

https://www.makospearguns.com/Two-Handle-Camera-Tray-p/m2htct.htm

Retractors WILL break eventually. Your best bet is to get one of the coiled tethers and replace the plastic connector on the diver side with a stainless bolt snap, and choke the small loop through the hole on the tray. This way, there's no plastic clip to break off your d-ring, it stows short so it's less of an entanglement hazard than excess line in the water, it's not a sketchy type of attachment method like a carabiner, etc., and it's securely attached to the tray without a connector that can fail.