Tips for a first timer????

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubabes

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm headed to Puerto Vallarta on Wednesday and I purchased a housing for my Canon S400 to make my first attempt at underwater photography. Now, I'm no expert on land, so I'm not expecting to do anything great underwater, but I'd like to get some tips on getting at least a few pics of something that might actually look like a fish??? :blinking: This includes maintenance of camera/housing, basic UW photography pointers, how much weight it takes to make sure the camera doesn't try to float to the surface, how to avoid having the camera fog up, etc. Thanks much!

Welcome to the board.

A search of the board will give you hours of reading.
To start you off, get close to your subject- a LOT closer than you might expect. The precieved distance and the actual (camera view) is quite a bit different. It's common for new shooters to not get nearly close enough and you end up with little small fish in a large background.

If you are using an internal flash (no strobe) getting close is even more important, your internal flash is good to maybe 3 ft MAX, anything past that is out of it's range. When using internal flash, I try to keep some type of solid background in the entire photo. If you have open water in the shot, you will tend to get a lot more back scatter.....looks like your shooting in a snow storm.