Thinking about a career change

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
I have a fair amount of snorkel experience, but have none with diving yet. I am looking to get my dive cert and maybe change to doing this for a career. I love the outdoors and the ocean and am tired of being cooped up in an office all day.

Any pointers/advice would be appreciated, since I am a noob.

Thank you!

There are many threads on this, you should search for them and read them.

Yours is not an unusual desire. As has been pointed out, there are several threads already on the board concerning this very topic. Yes, you should look them up and become acquainted with what they have to say.

Now, let's take a look at a few things that you should consider before taking the leap of faith of trying to become a scuba professional.

Do you mind making little to no money compared to what you are doing now?
Do long hours doing heavy physical labor bother you?
Are you in the best physical condition, so that you can place yourself in harm's way in order to keep someone from harm?