The Low Setpoint myth (or misunderstanding)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

paulemous

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I've been using the forum for reading up on stuff, but this is my first post. I hope it counts.

So a bit of background about myself: I've been diving for 10 years. I'm a PADI MSDT & SSI Instructor, SSI Twin Fundamentals and Limited Trimix trained. Currently doing Normoxic Trimix OC (SSI). I am also Recently did my TDI CCR Trained Helitrox Diluent Decompression Diver (so Air Diluent + Trimix) on an Dive Rite O2ptima. I am building hours and have a love hate relationship with the unit. Might change to a JJ but that is out of the scope of my story here.

I've got over 1100 dives. I teach and do weekly fun dives and/or Deco/Rebreather dives.

I have access to highly trained and knowledgeable people (really, this is important to keep me sane, you will understand later...) and never stop to enjoy enriching myself with more material and not just sticking with the standard course material.

So why all this info you may ask?

Well, without cutting the story short: I ran into a discussion with my instructor about swapping from Low to High Set Point during diving (decent), and the potential danger of NOT switching to the High Set Point. The "danger" was you breathing a hypoxic mix, essentially making it lethal to breather on the Low Set Point at depth.

Again, I might misunderstood what he tried to explain. But from my recollection it was as follows: