testing out housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scuba2sue

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am just getting into underwater photography. Have a new (old) Oly housing. Tried it out in the pool and no leaks, should I try taking it down to depth before putting my camera in it?

I just purchased a used housing and tested it as if it were brand new....If I were you I would

A ScubaBoard Staff Message...

moved to main UW photography forum

If this were a new housing I'd say "Nope, don't bother." As it's a used housing I personally still wouldn't waste a dive taking the housing down only, but you might feel more comfortable doing so.

You've tested it in the pool, you've carefully inspected every mm of the thing visually - I'd be happy with that :)

But I live on the edge with these things and it seems most people do the dry run first. I never have and likely never will with new gear.

The only time I've ever taken a housing without camera to depth was when I had what I thought was a small leak on a dive. Back on the boat I took everything apart, visually inspected the housing inside and out, did a rinse tank dunk test, then put some wrapped weights inside, tied it to a rope and lowered it overboard to our dive depth. Left it there during the surface interval and pulled it back up. Stuck the camera in and away I went for dive two with no problems.