Tax related and or price breaks

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Okay guys im new to diving with just my open water cert. continuing my training as we speak. I am a member of my local water rescue team I have all all my warmer gear in check, looking to buy a dry suit setup soon but have a few questions.

First question: Between the DUI public safety suit and the HOG's version what would be your choice? Or what instead?

second question: Is there any chance any of the gear or training im paying for out of pocket qualify for a tax write off or any other type of discount? All the equipment we use is our own personal and we receive no funding other than an occasional donation.

Thanks in advance!

Question one - I admit that I am biased being a HOG dealer but if your budget is limited as it sounds like it may be cost would be a major consideration. I don't know what the exact price of the DUI suit is but I can tell you what the MAP is on the HOG suit and it looks to be about $1000.00 less than the DUI. It is available with all the options that the DUI is. The actual manufacturer for the HOG suit has been around for many years and makes a lot of suits for the military and commercial dive fields.

The HOG suit uses SiTech replaceable seals instead of the DUI zip seals. The HOG suit also comes standard with a relief zipper. It doesn't look like the DUI does but I know one can be added.