Sync cord vs optical cable

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

thedude

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi guys

I am very new to underwater photography, I am thinking about buying a Nexus housing for my Nikon D80 but I don't know whether I go with the sync cord or optical cable? If anyone can please give me the pros and cons on each one that would be great. Thank you so much in advance.

Depends somewhat on the strobes and controller you plan to use. Optical sync is simple, flood proof, and works well if you have a good match between camera and strobes. It requires your camera's built in flash to be able to open and fire inside the housing. You also need to be able to block that light from getting to your subject to avoid backscatter. On most cameras, again with properly matched strobe, you can have ttl strobe control with an optical link, by the strobe duplicating the light from the built in flash. Downside is, your built in flash fires every time. You use your battery a bit faster, and depending on camera, your recharge time between shots might be longer.