switching from Mares Avanti Quattros to OMS Slipstream? Opinions?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

afieldofblue

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
Hello all,

I’ve been thinking of changing my beloved fins, reading up on fin threads here, and still stuck in the middle. Informed opinions could come in handy, so here it goes.

Basically I’ve been diving with Mares Avanti Quattro + (XL size) for a few years.

I really like them, really nice in strong current, simple and efficient frog kick (which is what I use 90% of the time), I can back-kick with them if necessary (rare) - I have them in yellow, which helps with visibility when guiding.

They work well enough for basic free-diving as well.

On the downside, they’re long, take up a lot of space in the bag or on the boat and sometimes the size of the blade feels a little too much, teaching in a pool for instance.

I’ve tried a friend’s OMS Slipstreams (XL fins and am 10.5 feet size US, so probably the right size), and like them as well. Different, compact, more muscular.

The more compact/rigid design feels like there’s a quicker response, not sure I get as much propulsion with the frog kick, but it’s a good feel overall.

But I’m still torn. I won’t be able to keep both (luggage weight...).

Not sure how these would fare in current à la Komodo for instance (currently in the gulf of California, so nothing comparable), and if I won’t end up using more energy than with the Quattros on a daily basis.