Strobes, Settings, and the Inverse Square Law

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ryan Neely

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I've been a photographer on land for decades (mostly art stuff, but there was a year or so when I shot professionally). I'm currently still mastering my scuba skills, so I'm not ready to take the plunge into underwater photography quite yet. However, that hasn't stopped me from reading about and researching underwater photography.

Yesterday I came across an article discussing strobe placement for macro shots. The author was discussing the use of two strobes on his rig and, essentially, using one strobe to illuminate objects in the background by feathering it away from the subject and pushing it forward so as not to create backscatter.

Immediately, I wondered if the inverse square law functioned differently when light was passing through water. I mean, it makes sense that one could achieve a black background when lighting a macro subject with all the light from both strobes. There would be so much light on the subject the camera's aperture would need to be quite small to compensate to the point that it wouldn't be able to pick up any light reflecting off objects in the background. Perhaps inverse square is more like inverse cube, or something.