Stickies for new UW video enthusiasts?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

freedc

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi,
I am new to this part of the board as I just decided that after 90 dives I should get my act together and learn how to take and edit better videos. I have so many questions but I don't want to duplicate past threads. I've tried searching, but it's hard because search terms pull up all kinds of irrelevant stuff. So I'll post my questions here, but also put out a plea for stickies, in case these are evergreen questions.

For context: I am currently using a GoPro Hero 4, I forget which model. Has a touch screen.

1. Tips for taking more stable video? My videos are pretty shaky. I currently hold it in my hand with a floating handle because it fits in my BC pocket or clips off without much fuss.

2. I obviously need to add lights. What is the best article for reading up on the options for lighting rigs, pros and cons, DIY projects? This can get expensive so I need to know how much I really need to do and for what kind of diving/videography.

3. What's the best way to white-balance with a GoPro? I've read that people like to take a slate and continually do it manually. I don't understand how to do that.

4. Should I give up on taking stills with a gopro? I've tried to use the combo mode on the gopro but it didn't work right. Maybe I need two cameras??