Starting Underwater Photography

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

viekuence

New
Reaction score
Hi,
I have just finished my diving course and would love to start underwater photography as a hobby. I don't want to spent a ton of $$$ but don't mind getting my wallet out for something decent.

I am a complete novice and am not too sure if I understand correctly when you talk about housings. Do you mean that you can use virtually any digital camera, buy a housing and presto bobs your uncle and you're taking award winning pictures:D ... If so I have a Canon Digital Ixus V3, would this work? if yes where do i get information on housing?

Cheers in advance

Viekuence

Well, you will need to find a camera that have housing available.
However, I think that before you want to get into underwater photography, you need to have quite a few dives under your belt first. Before you want to start playing with a camera, make sure that you are perfectly comfortable with diving and have really good bouyancy control first. If you just finish your openwater course, I suggest that you go on a few dive trips and just enjoy the dives without having any complication with extra gears such as camera first. In the mean time, you can start thinking about film vs digital, the budget, etc. There are plenty of threads here talking about various cameras with various housings. If you want to go digital, most people go with Olympus, Canon, Sony or Nikon.
Check www.digideep.com for information and camera and available housing.