So I'm trying out these S-P Twin Jet Max...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MarKon

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm a newbie, doing my OW cert, but I've snorkeled and played around with fins before. I've always felt pretty natural underwater, I'm an OK athlete, and loved Discover Scuba. I got these graphite Twin Jet Max (I know they're ridiculously priced, but this whole undertaking is an indulgence, so I'm gonna indulge:D They look great and I'm psyched. But in the pool I noticed two things:
1: I felt like I didn't really have control in any direction except going straight in a flutter kick (they were very powerful for that).
2: I felt like I was slow to react, like I had to take a couple seconds to gather the fins under me before going anywhere. They're long and I felt clumsy.
I'm wondering if this is all just me getting used to the scuba gear (still loved being underwater), or if my experiences are examples of the problems with split fins that some people dislike. Was my experience an example of the difference between split and paddle fins, or is is just b/c I'm new and still kinda suck? If it's the former, I'll probably be able to try some other fins from my LDS (they're cool and I'm giving them alot of $$$, so it's all good) Any rec's? Thinking Slipstream, what else?

Pretty much, what you described is what I found when I went back and tried split fins again, after having dived stiff paddle fins for a couple of years.