Should I have been more afraid?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jchapman3

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Greetings. This is my first time to the dive board, although my dive buddy has talked about it since we started our confined water together.

I got the dive itch in 2000 when I went on a PADI resort dive off the big Island of Hawaii. Green Turtles, moray's, an octopus that VANISHED in a cloud of black ink, and 3 black tip sharks sleeping on the bottom... not bad for my first 2 dives...

The itch stayed dormant until I had a chance to go to Grand Cayman this year with some friends. So I found a dive shop and got myself certified...I was going to do it right this time.

When I got to GC, I found 2 dive shops associated with the resort; the one that was recommended to me (and the same brand name as the shop in Hawaii) was booked solid for the first 3 days I was there; and suggested I try the other shop. When I got there, I explained that not only was I brand new C-Card holder... my open water dive was in a rock quary in Texas with vis about 3 feet ...my C-Card hadn't seen blue water yet. "No problem...we'll take care of you".

Day 1.