SDI vs. PADI DM

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Paul Guzewicz

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
First time posting on here so be kind!

I started diving when I was 14 years old living in East Tennessee, fell in love with it, moved to Florida and did my AOW and dove a lot. I am now a teacher in South Carolina in the middle of my career and have started thinking that I want to be able to do something with diving when I end my teaching career. Last summer I did my Rescue through SDI and want to move on to my DM. Not exactly sure what I want to do in the diving field, but want to have some options.

All of that to say, this next summer I am planning on doing my DM and need to decide if I should do it through SDI or PADI. I've heard arguments both ways. Some say that PADI is more widely accepted by dive shops hiring employees, while others say SDI is more "modern" and is the up and coming agency. Others say that the PADI course is light on the theory and SDI covers a lot more. I know there are cross over certs that allow you to switch agencies but I need to make a decision soon. I plan on doing it as a month long internship style course so I'm looking forward to getting some practical experience.

So what are your thoughts? Which course is more beneficial to someone who wants to eventually end up working in the field and possibly pursuing their instructor cert.

Thanks!!