Scubapro (uwatec) Aladin 2G infrared data transfer to MacBookPro Yosemite

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tecrec

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Happy New Year!

I own a Scubapro (uwatec) Aladin 2G.

I have been using for many years Scubapro SmartTrack in a MS-Windows based Laptop with Infrared port and everything has been working fine.

A few days ago I bought a MacBookPro with Yosemite (MAC OS 10.10) to replace my old MS-Windows based Laptop.

I am looking for buying a usb infrared dongle for this MacBook.

Does anyone has something to suggest that is tested and works with Yosemite?

If you are going to use the Mac based ScubaPro software, ScubaPro LogTRAK, then I suggest you purchase the official UWatec IrDA dongle. It's expensive but it will eliminate the "doubt" from UWatec support if you ever have problems down the line.

If you want to use our software, Dive Log Manager/DiveLogDT, then we also support the official UWatec dongle of course, but we also know of several cheaper 3rd party dongles that will work including this one. (The link is in the USA Amazon store but it can also be found in the UK and in Australia from big fishpond).
http://www.amazon.com/Adapter-USB-2-0-IrDA-Compatible/dp/B006VJ049Q/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top