Scubapro octo and Apeks primary - servicing issues?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to diving and am slowly buying the gear. I have been offered a set of 2nd hand regs which comprise an Apeks TX40 primary second stage, a Scubapro R190 octopus, an Apeks 1st stage and a consol with Oceanic compass, Namron Divemaster II spg and Oceanic USA depth guage.

The price seems fair, but I know I have to add on the price of a full service and I wonder if having different brands would increase the cost (i.e. charges for both Apeks and Scubapro service kits or whatever)? Also, the spg is oil filled and there is a large bubble under the glass - is that okay (seems it might make it more difficult to read when diving)? Last thing, the hose to the consol is much narrower than others I have seen and I just wonder if that is also pretty standard - again not something I remember seeing before?

PS. will be doing mainly cold water, UK diving and do hope to go on to advanced and rescue in the future.

Thanks for any comments.

you shouldn't combine different brands of first and second stages. every company has differnt specifications which usually only vary little (pressure they work with) but may do result in a piece not working properly. warranties are usually voided too in case of system failure. i would recomend buying an apeks octupus to avoid the issue.
different brand consoles do not matter. hope i could help you.