Scubapro MK25/S550 or Sherwood Blizzard?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

shipwreck_ferret

Registered
Reaction score
I've been diving a Brut for the last 9 years. Now I carry more gears, a bigger video camera+lighting, dive in sometime difficult situation and, lets face it, I'm getting older also.
I need a simple/reliable(I dare say bulletproof) reg like the Brut was but with better airflow caracteristic as it's very easy to overbreath the Brut.

I stopped my choices on the two on the title because they are both proven workhorse with no extra buttons or lever that I really don't care for; I like the idea of the underarm hose from Blizzard, but the deciding factor for me would be breathing caracteristic. Which of the two can deliver the most air at depth while under effort?

Thank you.

I had a similar discussion with a friend who spent years working dive boats. Their rental gear is Sherwood (basic) and Scubapro (deluxe for extra charge.) She's done plenty of dives as well as field service on both, and says that the Sherwoods don't breathe as well but they're pretty much bulletproof and extremely easy to disassemble, clean, and reassemble. Ther Scubapros (Mk25/650's in this case) breathe easier, especially at depth, are more reliable but harder to service.

Having never used a Sherwood reg, I can't personally vouch for one breathing easier than the other even at recreational depths. But this is from a person whose opinion I would trust.

shipwreck_ferret: