Scuba Pioneer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mantaray95616

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
Hi,
This year (2024) I celebrated my 83rd birthday and 70 years as a certified scuba diver.

I was a Chief Training Officer with the Scottish Sub-Aqua Club and a certified instructor for the Association of Canadian Underwater Councils of Canada (ACUC). Currently I am an Instructor Emeritus with the National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI).

Over the years, equipment has changed and diver's freedom restricted in the name of safety but the physiology, knowledge requirements and basic training needs have not.

I will try to respond to questions that fall within my sphere of knowledge and experience and in return I hope to follow the most current trends and thinking related to this great sport.

PS. I am not familiar with posting on social media and hope this reaches the "Meet & Greet" Forum.

Currently I am an Instructor Emeritus with the National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI).
Welcome.
I am an Instructor Emeritus with NAUI also.
DM sent .

Welcome to the board!!
I would love to hear stories about how training was back then, the requirements, the gear, etc.
The type of people that got involved, etc.
I find it fascinating.
Just with my very limited knowledge I must say, Wow! how diving has changed, in all aspects.

Welcome to the board!!
I would love to hear stories about how training was back then, the requirements, the gear, etc.